Bridge Masthead

The Bridge Independent Student Newspaper staff
The Bridge independent student newspaper is part of the student academic work of Texas A&M International University. Articles, stories and interviews herein are the solely written expression of the students and do not reflect the core institutional values of Texas A&M International University. As a student media outlet, The Bridge independent student newspaper is more than just a newspaper. We offer news coverage in digital formats as well, via our website and social media accounts. Our mission statement: To serve our readers (the students, faculty, staff and administration of Texas A&M International University) to the best of our ability through ethical and accurate written and visual communication across numerous platforms by providing a variety of news coverage of campus events and issues, as well as features and sports coverage, plus opinion/editorial articles. This is an academic organization and, as such, lends itself to real-world practical experience for our student staff so they can learn the techniques, skills, creativity, ethics, laws and impacts that affect journalism and journalists—thus preparing them for a possible career in news media.
Interested persons may share their stories and photos with or to thomas.brown at
To inquire about print and/or online advertising rates, please contact Dr. Arthur Soto-Vasquez: arthur.soto-vasquez at
To engage in our social media:
  • Instagram: @thebridgestudentnews
  • Twitter: @thebridgetamiu
  • Facebook: @thebridgestudentnews
  • ISSUU: thebridgenews

Current staff of The Bridge, as of Sept. 4, 2021:
  • David Gomez Jr., Editor-in-chief
  • Gabrielle Prather, Assistant Editor
  • Jhoanna Angeles, Social Media Manager
  • Melissa Garza, Copy Editor and Illustrator
  • Alejandro Carbajal, Bridge Illustrator and Photographer
  • Matthew Balderas, Bridge Ombudsman
  • Staff Writers: Mario Lopez, Mireilly Gonzalez, Carolina Cruz
  • Staff Photographers: Leonard Gonzalez, Joy Davis, Karla De Leon
  • Social Media: Juan Reyes
  • T. Rob Brown, Lead Faculty Adviser
  • Analee Paz, Faculty Design Adviser
  • Dr. Arthur D. Soto-Vásquez, Faculty Advertising and Social Media Adviser
  • Dr. José Carlos Lozano, Psychology and Communication Department Chair
  • Bridge Advisory Committee: Brown, Lozano, Paz, Soto-Vasquez and Dr. Ariadne Gonzalez
  • Former editors of The Bridge (Fall 2017 or later): Matthew Balderas, Kenneth Jones, Matilda Perez, Rebekah Rodriguez, Jose Ramos
  • Other former yet recent staff members (Fall 2017 or later): Gabriela Chapa, Tomas Cruz, Cecelia A. Jimenez, Joel De La Rosa, Shelley Rodriguez, Allan Rodriguez, Itzel Luna, Gabriel Rodriguez, Vanessa Vallarta, Danny Zaragoza, Jose Alvarado, Gerardo Martinez, Carolina Martinez, Michael Hernandez, Laura Irizarry, Iran Rodriguez, Dalila Flores, Yensey Murillo, Ramiro Carrera, Ricardo Castillon, Maria Selgado, Lynn Yang, Melva Villarreal, Erika Villa, Jessica Rodriguez, Angela K. Carranza, David J. Garcia, Erick Barrientos, Gabriel Arrendondo, Steven Martinez, Reuben Rodriguez, James Loya, Brittany Stubblefield-Engram, Niurka Rocha, Nayelle Acosta, Pedro Guzman, Alejandro Hernandez, Brandon Cienfuegos, Chris Perez
The Bridge News
Visit Us On InstagramVisit Us On Facebook